Day 8: Introduction

My name is Ceris. I am over 200 years old, my brother is Death, my father is Lucifer, and my mother was called Persephone. I was accused of her murder when I was 70 and locked in a cage in the pits of Hell until I was finally released by my brother after my 180th birthday. He released me because he had renounced the throne of hell, and it must have a living heir. My father was furious. He had spent decades teaching Methalis how to rule, however Methalis wished to make something more of himself. So, when my father banished him in anger, thinking it would teach Methalis a lesson, he was shocked to find out that instead Methalis had joined the Reaper Core, and was now training to become the next Death.

As the only other heir my father finally had to recognise me. He made me the Gatekeeper of Hell, a lonely position on the very boarder of the kingdom. Little did he realise the power he had given me. As Gatekeeper I was charged with the protection of the lands, this gave me the chance to really look into my mothers death.

I soon discovered that a demon, named Lilith, had wormed her way into my father’s court. From her position there she had been whispering lies and tricks right into my father’s ear. She poisoned his mind, made him believe that Persephone was teaching Methalis all the duties of the Grecian goddess that she was descended from. He thought that my mother was trying to steal Methalis away for 6 months of the year, making him unfit to take Lucifer’s place and rule. His greatest fear was that Methalis would choose Persephone’s role instead of his own, but instead my father’s actions drove him further and further away until Methalis chose Death instead. Besides, my father was half right, she was teaching Methalis, but she was teaching me too.

So, he killed her, with Lilith’s help, and then he pinned the blame on his youngest child. As king no one dared question him, no one except my brother. I was locked away, alone and in the dark. There I fear that I went mad, for I saw creatures in the shadows and when I was free they followed me. They took on the shapes of dogs, red eyes and sharp teeth that glinted madly, they followed my every command. When I first met Cerberous at the gates I truly thought I had lost control, but then I found that he was the original hell-hound. Perhaps in my loneliness Hell had made me some friends? Through many trials I earned Cerberous’ trust and loyalty.

Now I stand with the hounds at my command, and all the powers of Hell behind me. My father does not have long left in this world, and once God has fallen I know that Lilith will seize her chance to try and claim the throne. That is when I will reveal myself. That is when I will finally become queen.

My brother is Death, my father is Lucifer, but I am the Devil. And Earth will bow at my command.

Day 8: Introduction

Leave a Reply

